Review: The Dark Prophecy

WARNING: Contains Spoilers!!

30145666

 

Author: Rick Riordan

Pages: 414

Series: The Trials of Apollo #2

Started: May 6, 2017

Finished: June 9, 2017

Rating: 4/5

 

 

 

TPBorders

GoodReads Summary: Zeus has punished his son Apollo—god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more—by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. What is affecting the Oracles, and how can Apollo do anything about them without his powers?

After experiencing a series of dangerous—and frankly, humiliating—trials at Camp Half-Blood, Apollo must now leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. Fortunately, what he lacks in godly graces he’s gaining in new friendships—with heroes who will be very familiar to fans of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series. Come along for what promises to be a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride. . . .

TPBorders

Review: 

I finally finished the book, I’ve been in a slump this year and it’s getting to me. Anyways, this book was amazing. I mean, Rick Riordan never disappoints me with his books so far. Just the book dragged in some parts and I wanted them to be done and over with, but it got better.

Characters:

As usual, the story revolves around Apollo and his journey to free the oracles with the three Roman Emperors. We last see Apollo, in The Hidden Oracle, about to leave Camp Half-Blood with Leo and Calypso. In this book, we learn more about Apollo’s past and how he’s beginning to develop a connection with the demigods with him. This change started in the first book but more of the change showed more in this book. I loved that he started to show emotions and learning more about him opened up his character development to give us an insight of what he’s been through as a god and how it’s affecting him as a mortal.

The relationship with Leo and Calypso is a rocky one, and honestly, I’m not a huge fan of Caleo but I’m sure it’ll grow on me when they appear more. The biggest question among the fans is ‘Did they break up?’ I read about that before I read the book and I wanted to see where they got the assumptions from. When I read the book, I can say that there was no assumptions that they broke up and I still believed that they are still together, even if they did break up wouldn’t affect at all. Their relationship was kind of sporadic and all they did was argue, I found them to be one of those funny couples that bicker over nothing and just joke about it in the end. So I’m intrigued to see where their relationship goes in this series.

Then we have Emmie and Jo. A lesbian couple and ex-hunters. I was excited for another LGBT couple being introduced since Solangelo being confirmed (I was very happy over that). Their connection with each other is amazing and I’m pleased their loyalty and compassion for each other, let’s not forget their protectiveness over their daughter. I was moved by their choice of giving up immortality and being Hunters of Artemis for their love for each other. I would give up everything just to be with the person I loved just like those two. I hope we get to see them later in the series.

Plot:

So the story takes place in Indianapolis, Indiana where the Cave of Trophonius is located. Apollo and the gang learn who the next emperor is and apparently he has a connection with Apollo, some of you will be pleased when you find out. They had to go through numerous quests to free the prisoners and retrieve an artifact that connects with the Cave of Trophonius. I don’t want to give too much away but I don’t know how to explain the plot without doing just that. All I can say is, there is a lot going on, some funny, some sad, and some amazing.

Full Review:

Now onto my full review.

I loved the book, it’s amazing and just as great as the previous one but it did drone on in some parts and I was having a hard time getting through them. Learning more about Apollo’s past is what I loved most about the book, we learned a little more about our favorite conceited god. Leo’s antics never cease to amaze me and he never lost his humor, which I absolutely loved. I can just see him and Apollo just kicking it behind the scenes and be the best of buds. Learning about the identity of the emperor was a shocker to me because I thought it was gonna be someone else and I’m surprised his name never came to me since I learned about him, Nero, and the third emperor in Art History class. Yes, I already know who the third emperor is, it was a dead given for the people who learned about Ancient Rome.

All in all, this was another amazing read and I can’t wait for the next book, by the way it’s called The Burning Maze and it will be released in Spring of 2018.

About Tranquil Pages

Aspiring Artist and avid book reader
This entry was posted in Favorites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

