Review: The House of Hades

17701164

 

Author: Rick Riordan

Pages: 458

Series: The Heroes of Olympus #4

Format: Ebook

Started: October 24, 2016

Finished: December 10, 2016

Rating: 4/5

 

 

TPBorders

GoodReads Summary: The stakes have never been higher. If Percy Jackson and Annabeth fail in their quest, there’ll be hell on Earth. Literally.

Wandering the deadly realm of Tartarus, every step leads them further into danger. And, if by some miracle they do make it to the Doors of Death, there’s a legion of bloodthirsty monsters waiting for them.

Meanwhile, Hazel and the crew of the Argo II have a choice: to stop a war or save their friends. Whichever road they take one thing is certain – in the Underworld, evil is inescapable.

TPBorders

Review: This took me forever to finish because of college.Anyways, this book was pretty good. I loved the interaction Hazel had with Pluto, it was exciting to see Pluto to compliment her and then tell her that he wasn’t here when she asked him about taking her back to the Underworld. This just made me giddy because the God of the Underworld is my favorite god in mythology.

My favorite scene out of the entire book is when Nico and Jason meet Cupid. Poor Nico was absolutely terrified of Cupid because of his hidden feelings. Cupid was terrifying because he made Nico confess that he’s gay and that he had a crush on Percy. I felt bad for the son of Hades. I give Jason props for telling Nico that it’s okay to be gay and that he shouldn’t hide what he is, even though Nico told him he doesn’t want to out of fear that he would looked down on and avoided even more than normal. So Jason settled with keeping it a secret until Nico was ready to come out. Jason became a cool guy for that and I like that.

The book seemed to drag on especially with the Tartarus scenes. The scenes were too long for my liking and I was starting to dread reading them and was quickly losing interest. But I stuck to it and read through the end.

The scene with Leo and Calypso had me laughing and feel sad at the same time. Their first encounter was funny with their jokes and picking on one another but I later became sad because they ended liking each other and Leo had to leave in order to help his friends complete the quest. But I am happy with the outcome with those two later on.

The battle in the House of Hades was pretty intense. Frank being promoted to praetor for the sake of controlling the army of undead warriors. Then Hazel’s battle with Minos’ wife at the Doors of Death was an interesting one. I loved how she tricked the sorceress into falling for her own tricks. Then the gang coming to the rescue to defeat Clytius in the end with Hecate’s help. The battle was pretty cool.

The book was pretty slow pace to me, especially during the scenes in Tartarus. I think those scenes should’ve been more interesting that what they were and maybe I wouldn’t dread them like I do. Hopefully next book will be better.

About alibooknerd

Aspiring Artist and avid book reader
Aside | This entry was posted in Favorites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

